“Before You Dig!”
Anyone who does excavation work should be aware of possible liability for damages and criminal penalty, as explained in the following excerpt.
Effective October 24, 1992
Section 304 sub paragraph (G)
Violations- Any person who knowingly and willfully engages in excavation activities
A. Without first calling 48 hours in advance an available one-call notification system to determine the location of underground facilities in the area; or
B. Without heeding appropriate location information or markings established by an operator of a natural gas or hazardous liquid pipeline facility; and
A. A natural gas pipeline facility resulting in death, serious bodily harm, or actual damage to property exceeding $50,000.00; or
B. A hazardous liquid pipeline facility resulting in death, serious bodily harm, actual damage to property exceeding $50,000.00, or release of more than 50 barrels of product, shall, upon conviction be subject, for each offence, to a fine under Title 18, United States Code, imprisonment for a term not to exceed 5 years, or both.
Call at Least 48 Hours Before Digging
As of Oct. 1, 1998, it is Texas state law that you contact a one-call system before excavating.
One-call system of Texas Dig Tess Lone Star Notification Texas One-call
1-800-545-6005 1-800-344-8377 1-800-669-8344 1-800-245-4545
A federal law now in effect also states that any person who engages in excavation activities without first using an available one-call notification system to determine locations of underground facilities; or without heeding location information or markings and subsequently damages a pipeline facility shall be subject to a fine, imprisonment, or both. The law also states that OSHA may be notified of any accident caused by an excavator. Please see our accident report on the back of this letter.